The Fermi Prize 2015 in the International Year of Light

By Alessandro Bettini, Luisa Cifarelli. Published on 23 November 2015 in:
Awards, IYL 2015, News, November 2015, , ,

The 2015 Enrico Fermi Prize of the Italian Physical Society [SIF] has been awarded to Toshiki Tajima and Diederik Wiersma with the following citation:

For their innovative and high-impact contributions to the study of phenomena dealing with the interaction of light with matter and particles“.

In particular:

– to Toshiki Tajima, University of California at Irvine, Irvine, CA, USA, “for the invention of the laser-wakefield-acceleration technique which led to a large number of fundamental and interdisciplinary applications ranging from accelerator science to plasma physics and astrophysics“;

– to Diederik Wiersma, University of Florence, Italy, and National Institute of Optics of the Italian National Research Council [INO-CNR] and European Laboratory for Non-Linear Spectroscopy[LENS], “for the first observation of Anderson localisation and of anomalous transport phenomena described by Lévy statistics in the framework of his highly original research on light propagation in disordered media“.

Read On No Comments
 News from Europe 

SIF Fermi Prize to microelectronics

By Luisa Cifarelli. Published on 27 November 2014 in:
Awards, News, November 2014, , ,

In 2001, the SIF established the prestigious “Enrico Fermi” Prize, on the occasion of the centenary of the birth of the great scientist. This prize is given annually to one or more individuals who have specially influenced physics with their discoveries.
A commission of experts appointed by the SIF and the major research institutions in Italy, namely CNR, INAF, INFN, INGV, INRIM and the Fermi Centre, selects the winner among a list of candidates and forwards the proposal to the Council of the SIF for final approval …

Read On No Comments

SIF Fermi Prize for decisive contribution to LHC discoveries

By Jorge Rivero González. Published on 21 August 2013 in:
August 2013, Awards, News, , , , , , , , , ,

The 2013 Enrico Fermi Prize of the Italian Physical Society [SIF] has been awarded to Pierluigi Campana (INFN Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati), Simone Giani (CERN), Fabiola Gianotti (CERN), Paolo Giubellino (INFN Torino) and Guido Tonelli (Università di Pisa and INFN Pisa), “for the outstanding results that the five large international collaboration experiments at the CERN Large Hadron Collider [LHC] – LHCb, TOTEM, ATLAS, ALICE, CMS – have achieved during the first period of LHC data taking under the successful guidance of the…

Read On No Comments
 News from Europe 

SIF Fermi Prize to Car and Parrinello

By Alessandro Bettini & Luisa Cifarelli. Published on 26 September 2012 in:
Awards, News, September 2012, , , ,

The 2012 Enrico Fermi Prize of the Italian Physical Society [SIF] has been awarded in the field of condensed matter physics to Roberto Car, of Princeton University, and Michele Parrinello, of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, for “the discovery of a Molecular Dynamics method known the world over as the Car-Parrinello method. This method has been a breakthrough in the field of numerical simulations, with great impact in many interdisciplinary contexts both theoretical and experimental, ranging from Material Science to Chemistry and Biology”…

Read On No Comments
 News from Europe