Ulf-G. Meißner wins the 2016 EPS Lise Meitner Prize

By . Published on 23 May 2016 in:
Awards, May 2016, News, , , , ,

The Lise Meitner Prize is awarded biennially by the European Physical Society (EPS) for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science.

Ulf-G. Meißner
Ulf-G. Meißner

The 2016 Prize Laureate is:

  • Prof. Ulf-G. Meißner, Universität Bonn and Forschungszentrum in Jülich, Germany

for his developments and applications of effective field theories in hadron and nuclear physics, that allowed for systematic and precise investigations of the structure and dynamics of nucleons and nuclei based on Quantum Chromodynamics.”

The prize consists of a Medal, a Diploma with the above citation, in addition to a cash award.

The Lise Meitner Prize is sponsored by:

  • The Karin and Carlo Giersch Foundation
  • The KVI Centre for Advanced Radiation Technology, Groningen
  • The Nuclear Physics Institute Research Centre, Jülich
  • The Institute of Nuclear Physics, Orsay
  • The GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung, Darmstadt
  • The 3rd European Nuclear Physics Conference, Groningen, 2015.

The prize medal and the diploma will be presented to Prof. Meißner at a scientific meeting on Advances in Effective Field Theories to be held at the Forschungszentrum Jülich (DE) later in the year.

More information about the Lise Meitner Prize and the EPS Nuclear Physics Division can be found on the division’s website.

Read previous post:
2016 prizes of the EPS Plasma Physics Division

The EPS Plasma Physics Division (EPS PPD) recognises outstanding research in plasma physics with several prizes.