2016 prizes of the EPS Plasma Physics Division

By . Published on 23 May 2016 in:
Awards, May 2016, , , ,

The EPS Plasma Physics Division (EPS PPD) recognises outstanding research in plasma physics with several prizes.

The 2016 Hannes Alfvén Prize is awarded to

  • Sergei Bulanov, National Institute for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology, Japan and A.M. Prokhorov, Institute of General Physics of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia and
  • Hartmut Zohm, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany
    “for their experimental and theoretical contributions to the development of large-scale next-step devices in high-temperature plasma physics research”.

The 2016 EPS Plasma Physics Innovation Prize is awarded to

  • Klaus-Dieter Weltmann Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology, Germany and
  • Thomas von Woedtke, Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology, Germany
    “for their pioneering work in the field of plasma medicine”.

The 2016 EPS Plasma Physics Division PhD Research Award goes to

  • Bastien Bruneau (LPICM, France) for his PhD thesis on the “control of radio frequency capacitively coupled plasma asymmetries using Tailored Voltage Waveforms”,
  • Arnaud Colaitis (CELIA, France) for his PhD thesis on a “multiscale description of the Laser-Plasma Interaction, application to the physics of shock ignition in Inertial Confinement Fusion” and
  • Natasha Jeffrey (U. Glasgow, United Kingdom) for her PhD thesis on the “spatial, spectral and polarization properties of solar flare X-ray sources”.

The 2016 APS-EPS Landau Spitzer Award is awarded to

  • John Berkery (Columbia University, USA),
  • Steven Sabbagh (Columbia University, USA),
  • Yueqiang Liu (CCFE, UK), and
  • Holger Reimerdes (EPFL, CH)

“for their seminal joint research providing key understanding and quantitative verification of global mode stability in experimental high performance tokamak plasmas, based on drift-kinetic MHD theory, and made possible by strong and essential partnership between Europe and the USA”.

The prize ceremony will take place during the annual conference of the Division that will take place in Leuven (Belgium) from 4-7 July 2016. Click here for details about the conference.

More information can be found on the website of the EPS Plasma Physics Division.

Read previous post:
VII EPS Forum Physics and Society: “Getting the Diversity Balance Right in Physics”

The VII EPS Forum Physics and Society will take place from 26-28 October 2016 at the Institute of Physics in London, United Kingdom. It is organised by the European Physical Society in collaboration with the Institute of Physics.