EPS Executive Committee meeting in Brussels

By . Published on 23 November 2015 in:
News, November 2015, ,

The EPS Executive Committee met in Brussels on 17-20 October 2015. The meeting was chaired by the EPS President, C. Rossel. The Members of the Executive Committee present were: A. Bracco, L. Di Ciaccio, A. Friberg, Z. Fulop, C. Hidalgo, G. Leuchs, E. Rachlew, M. Reiffers and F. Saunders. Excused were J. Dudley, T. Müller, and S. Sotiriou. Invited were E. van Groningen, C. Latimer, D. Lee, and V. Velasco.

The agenda included items on the EPS elections, Divisions and Groups and the preparation of Council 2016. A short summary is available to all EPS Members here.

Read previous post:
New chair for the EPS Physics for Development Group

The group has a new chairman, Ernst van Groningen. He is the director of the physics program at the International Science Program [ISP] located in Uppsala, Sweden. He is a renowned scientist and an expert in the scientific cooperation with developing countries.
The group needs to better define its positioning and to think and design new action types by particularly promoting the application of new methods or/and new technologies to create a better situation for physics in developing countries.