The new team of the Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics commission (C15) at IUPAP

By . Published on 30 March 2015 in:
March 2015, , ,

At the 28th general assembly of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, held in Singapore November 5-7 2014, the new teams of the different IUPAP Commissions have been elected, and complete information can be found at

Dominique Vernhet
Dominique Vernhet

In the new Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics commission (C15), a few members belong to European Union and the chair of the EPS Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Division [AMOPD], Dominique Vernhet, has been nominated as Secretary. Dominique Vernhet is also the new chairperson of the EPS Conference Committee. They started their term of office on 1 January 2015. The full list of the IUPAP C15 members is reported below.

Toshiyuki Azuma (Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Laboratory, RIKEN) Japan- Chair
Roberto Rivarola
(Instituto de Física Rosario) Argentina- Vice-Chair
Dominique Vernhet
(Institut des NanoSciences de Paris, UPMC) France – Secretary
Dajun Ding
(Institute of Atomic and Molecular Physics, Jilin University) China
Wonho Jhe (Seoul National University) Korea
Thomas Möller (Institut für Optik und Atomare Physik, Technische Universität Berlin) Germany
Jimena Gorfinkiel (Department of Physical Sciences, the Open University) UK
Peter Drummond (Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne) Australia
Thomas F. Gallagher (Department of Physics, University of Virginia, Charlottesville) USA
Joseph E. Thywissen (Department of Physics, University of Toronto) Canada
Alexander Sergeev (Institute of Applied Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences)  Russian Federation
Ousmanou MOTAPON (University of Maroua) Cameroon
Ergo Nommiste (University of Tartu, Riia) Estonia
Jan-Petter Hansen (Department of physics and technology, University of Bergen) Norway

  1. Two Prestigious Prizes in Quantum Electronics and Optics awarded
  2. 6th EPS Young Minds Leadership Meeting
  3. DPG President Rolf-Dieter Heuer chairs the council of the new SESAME Accelerator Centre in the Middle East

Read previous post:
International Year of Light news

Opening Ceremony in Morocco On 26 February the Opening Ceremony of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies [IYL 2015] in Morocco took place in Rabat, at the University of Sciences of Rabat. In addition to the participation of researchers, students, institutional partners and journalists, the main audience of this ceremony was children and teenagers, largely represented by student associations, astronomy clubs and UNESCO’s associated schools, amounting to a total of 300 attendees. - Read the full report on the IYL 2015 website.