Summary of the EPS Executive Committee

By . Published on 25 July 2014 in:
July 2014, News, ,

The Executive Committee of the European Physical society met in Mulhouse, France, on 24 June 2014. This was the first meeting after the elections at Council. In addition to appointing officers, the Executive Committee discussed better communication with Member Societies and Divisions and Groups. Each Member of the Executive Committee acts as a privileged contact to a set of Member Societies and Divisions and Groups.

Executive Committee at the EPS secretariat
Executive Committee at the EPS secretariat

Among the other items on the agenda were EPS statements, and EPS Action Committees. EPS Members can access summary of the Executive Committee Meeting on the EPS website.

For memory, the current members of the Executive Committee are:

  • J. Dudley – President
  • C. Rossel – President–elect
  • G. Leuchs – Honorary Treasurer
  • L. Di Ciaccio – Honorary Secretary of the Executive Committee
  • A. Bracco
  • A. Friberg
  • Z. Fülöp
  • C. Hidalgo
  • J. Hough
  • T. Müller
  • E. Rachlew
  • M. Reiffers
  • S. Sotiriou

Read previous post:
European consultation on Science 2.0

The European Commission has opened a consultation on "Science 2.0". A briefing document has been prepared describing what the European Commission means by Science 2.0, as well as introducing the issues. The consultation is open to all interested parties, and closes on 30 September 2014.
Digital technologies, many of them driven by physics research, have and are changing the way research is conducted and organised. The European Commission, through this consultation, is asking key stakeholders (universities, research funders, libraries, researchers, publishers, businesses) to provide their input...