2017 EPS Solar Physics Division Prizes

By Manolis Georgoulis. Published on 08 August 2017 in:
August 2017, Awards, News, , , , , ,

In a consultation process kicked off  in 2015, the ESPD / EPS decided in 2016 to implement three Division Prizes, foreseen by its statutes and bylaws since its establishment in 2008: a Senior Prize, presented to a distinguished senior solar scientist for a life-long prolific career or scholarship, an Early Career Prize, presented to a solar scientist with an outstanding research track record up to four years after the completion of his / her PhD Thesis and a PhD Thesis Prize, presented to a young researcher who achieved significant doctoral work and a successful PhD Thesis completion over the previous calendar year. The PhD Thesis and Early Career Prizes are awarded annually, while the Senior Prize is triennial.

Read On Comments Off
 News from the EPS 

First China-Europe Solar Physics Meeting Accomplished

By Manolis K. Georgoulis. Published on 20 July 2017 in:
July 2017, , , , , ,

During May 15 – 19, 2017, the first China-Europe Solar Physics Meeting (CESPM-1) was successfully organised in the city of Kunming, Yunnan Province, China. The European Solar Physics Division (ESPD), on behalf of the entire European solar physics community, strongly endorsed and advocated for this gathering. Contributing to the CESPM-1 organisation, the ESPD was also delighted to participate in its deliberations.

Read On Comments Off
 News from the EPS 

14th European Solar Physics Meeting in Dublin, Ireland

By Valery M. Nakariakov. Published on 27 January 2015 in:
2015, January 2015, News, ,

From 8-12 September 2014, the European Solar Physics Division [ESPD] ran the 14th European Solar Physics Meeting [ESPM-14] in Dublin, Ireland. The meeting was hosted by the active and rapidly growing solar physics team of Trinity College Dublin, led by Professor Peter T Gallagher. Dr Shaun Bloomfield chaired the Local Organising Committee. The Scientific Organising Committee consisted of the members of the ESPD Board and was chaired by its President, Professor Valery M Nakariakov (Warwick, UK). ESPMs are run

Read On No Comments
 News from Europe 


By Jorge Rivero González. Published on 26 November 2013 in:
Events, June 2014, May 2014, November 2013, , , ,

The 14th European Solar Physics Meeting [ESPM-14] will take place from 8 to 12 September 2014 at Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland.
The ESPM-14 is organised by the European Solar Physics Division [ESPD], a joint Division of the European Physical Society [EPS] and the European Astronomical Society [EAS].
The conference aims to highlight all aspects of modern solar physics, including observation and theory, providing a…

Read On No Comments