ECOSS 2017

By . Published on 26 September 2017 in:
Events, September 2017, ,

The EPS-CMD 33rd European Conference on Surface Science (ECOSS-33) was held in Szeged (Hungary) from August 27th to September 1st, 2017. Each year, ECOSS gathers the Surface Science Division of the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA) and the Surface Physics Section of CMD to meet and discuss the latest advances in surface physics/chemistry and the progress of the surface science approach of the related innovation fields of heterogeneous catalysis, nanoelectronics, bio-nanoscience and light–matter nanotechnology.

The conference was marked by seven memorable plenary lectures (Rolf Jürgen Behm (Ulm, Germany), Charles T. Campbell (University of Washington, USA), Young Kuk (Seoul, Korea), Elisa Molinari (CNR Modena, Italy), Rasmita Raval  (Liverpool, U.K.), Gabor A. Somorjai (UC Berkeley, USA), and Martin Wolf  (Berlin, Germany)),  and a great many more extremely interesting invited talks. 

One of the highlights was the conference visit to ELI – ALPS.

ECOSS 33 attributed several student awards, with notably, the IUVSTA-ELSEVIER Student Awards for best oral and poster presentations, the EPS Student Grant, the EPS Poster prize, the ECOSS prize for best presentation, as well as the Hungarian Vacuum Society Prize. CMD warmly congratulates the 2017 laureates of the IUVSTA-ELSEVIER Student Awards. They are:

  • J. Spencer Carey (University of Washington, Seattle, USA) for his oral presentation on ”Energetics of adsorbed molecules and molecular fragments on Ni(111) by microcalorimetry”;
  • Suguru Ito (The University of Tokyo), for his oral presenation on ”Solving mysteries in pure bismuth by quantum confinement”
  • Lars Mohrhusen (Carl von Ossietzky University, Oldenburg, Germany), for his poster on ”Electrostatic Shielding versus Sterical Ligand Stabilization: Tunable Nanocrystal Stabilization Mechanisms”
  • Prithwidip Saha (IIT Kanpur, India) for his oral presentation on ”Ultrathin film polymorphs of ferrocene derivatives assisted by functional groups and solvents”
  • Olga Vajdle (University of Novi Sad, Novi Sad, Serbia), for her poster on ”Comparison of multiwalled carbon nanotubes modified with silver and gold particles as surface modifiers of carbon”.

Read previous post:

The 16th International Conference on Accelerator and Large Experimental Control Systems (ICALEPCS 2017) will take place at the “Palau de...