Winners of the 2017 EPS Alfvén and Plasma Innovation Prizes

By . Published on 21 March 2017 in:
Awards, March 2017, News, , , , ,

The 2017 Alfvén prize is awarded to Ksenia Aleksandrovna Razumova, from the Kurchatov Institute (Moscow, Russia), for

“obtaining, for the first time, a macroscopically stable plasma column in a tokamak configuration; this led to the world-wide programme of experimental exploration and development of the tokamak concept for magnetic confinement fusion”.
The 2017 Innovation award is given to Michel Moisan, from the Université de Montréal (Québec, Canada), for

“pioneering contributions to the development and understanding of microwave plasma sources and their applications to materials processing, healthcare and environmental protection”.

The prize ceremony will take place during the 44th EPS Conference on Plasma Physics. Organised by the European Physical Society (EPS) Plasma Physics Division. This annual conference covers a broad range of plasma science spanning from nuclear fusion to low temperature plasmas, and astrophysical plasmas to laser plasma interactions. It will be held in Belfast, UK, from 26 to 30 June 2017.

Complete information can be found on the conference website:

  1. 2017 EPS High Energy and Particle Physics Division prizes
  2. IONS Balvanyos 2017 Conference
  3. Two Prestigious Prizes in Quantum Electronics and Optics awarded

Read previous post:
European Solar Physics Division (ESPD) – Nominations sought for ESPD prizes

The European Solar Physics Division (ESPD) has decided to raise awareness in the work and achievements of the European and international solar physics community by establishing three (3) distinct prizes: a PhD Τhesis Prize, a Postdoc (Early Career Researcher) Prize and Senior Prize. Nominations are invited for each of them. The selection of each prize awardee will be made by the ESPD Board and by an external committee of experts.