Welcome to the new Young Minds Action Committee members – 15th YMAC meeting

By . Published on 24 January 2017 in:
2017, January 2017, News, , ,

The 15th Young Minds Action Committee meeting took place in London on October 28th.  It was a short but intense meeting, resulting in some big news we are eager to share with you.

First of all, we would like to welcome three new Action Committee members, as well as thank the members who are going to leave us.  

The new EPS President-elect Rüdiger Voss is now a member of the committee, together with the current EPS president Christophe Rossel, who will be in charge until his term comes to an end in April this year.

Zsolt Fülöp from the EPS Nuclear Physics division has left the YM Action Committee and has been replaced by Sylvie Jacquemot from the Executive Committee and the EPS Plasma Physics Division. We sincerely thank Zsolt for his time and commitment in the Young Minds project, which has largely benefited from his advice and help. Among the many activities and projects he promoted, we want to highlight his involvement in the organization of the first Young Minds session at EuNPC 2015 (European Nuclear Physics Conference), as well as in the organisation of the 5th Leadership Meeting in Budapest in July 2016.

Ulrike Ritzmann, who was a member of the Action Committee since 2013, has also left the committee, but agreed to remain as an ex-officio member for the next months. Araceli Venegas-Gomez will take her place.

The place and date of the next Leadership Meeting was among the many things discussed in this meeting.

At the end of the 5th Leadership Meeting in Budapest, last July, we invited all the Young Minds sections to apply to host the next Leadership Meeting. During the last Action Committee meeting, we had the challenging task to evaluate the applications and make a decision. It was a tough job, and we really appreciate the effort made by all the participants.

We are proud to announce that the next Leadership Meeting will be hosted by the PONYS EPS Naples Young Minds Section, and will be held in Naples on May 12th and 13th of this year.

We are looking forward to the 6th Leadership Meeting in the south of Italy.

For more details do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website (

Read previous post:
Information from Liechtenstein 2016

Electricity Museum

This year the Liechtenstein Scientific Society held its annual meeting in the premises of the “Lawena-Museum”.

That is an interesting Electricity Museum situated in the oldest hydro-electric Power Plant in Liechtenstein in the Lawena valley. Last Year Dr. Cyril Deicha donated hundreds of historic scientific, technical and didactic objects to complete the original collection of the museum. Now it is the largest collection of its kind in the region. In the summer the museum is open to the public on several weekends (