2017 IBA-Europhysics Prize – Call for Nominations

By . Published on 24 November 2016 in:
Awards, November 2016, , , ,

The board of the European Physical Society (EPS) Nuclear Physics Division (NPD) calls for nominations for the 2017 IBA-Europhysics Prize sponsored by the IBA company,

This prize is awarded every second year for Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine. Therefore, the NPD board welcomes proposals which represent the breadth and strength of these fields in Europe.

In the past, the prize has been awarded for research in radiation biophysics, in the application of accelerator mass spectrometry, in the Ion Beam Analysis techniques in the field of Cultural Heritage studies, in tumor therapy with heavy ions, in the development of spin polarized 3He targets by optical pumping and in improving PET-scans.

The laureate in 2015 was Prof. Salehpour in recognition of the considerable impact he has made in the field of biomedical Accelerator Mass Spectrometry by facilitating routine analysis of ultra-small DNA samples in the microgram range. The Prize was presented to Prof. Salehpour at a ceremony during the 3rd European Nuclear Physics Conference, in Groningen, The Netherlands.

Nominations should be accompanied by a completed nomination form, a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee(s) and a list of relevant publications. Up to two letters of support from authorities in the field, outlining the importance of the work of the nominee(s), would also be helpful.

The deadline for the submission of the proposals is 15 January 2017.

The prize rules, nomination form and more detailed information about the prize can be found on the website of the EPS Nuclear Physics Division:

F. Azaiez
Chair of the Nuclear Physics Board of EPS

Read previous post:
European Parliament in support of Research and Innovation

In its plenary session of October 26th 2016 at Strasbourg, the European Parliament (EP) expressed its position with respect to the Draft Budget for the European Union for 2017.  The EP reiterates its commitment to research and growth supported by appropriate funding.