EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2017 – Nominations are open

By . Published on 20 October 2016 in:
Awards, October 2016, , ,

Nominations for the EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2017 “For outstanding contributions to plasma physics” are now open.

The prize was established by the EPS Plasma Physics Division in 2000 and is awarded for research achievements which have either already shaped the field of plasma physics or have demonstrated the potential to do so in the future. To recognize collaborative research, a group of up to three individual scientists may be nominated.

The previous Alfvén Prize laureates are:

  • R Balescu (2000)
  • V Shafranov (2001)
  • M Rosenbluth (2002)
  • V E Fortov (2003)
  • J W Connor, R J Hastie and J B Taylor (2004)
  • M G Haines, T W L Sandford and V Smirnov (2005)
  • P H Rebut (2006)
  • F Wagner (2007)
  • L Chen (2008)
  • J Meyer-ter-Vehn (2009)
  • A H Boozer and J Nührenberg (2010)
  • P Diamond, A Hasegawa and K Mima (2011)
  • E Parker (2012)
  • M Porkolab (2013)
  • P Mora (2014)
  • N Fisch (2015)
  • S Bulanov and H Zohm (2016)

The closing date for nominations for the 2017 prize is November 4th, 2016

The completed nomination form should be sent to the Chair of the Plasma Physics Division Board of the European Physical Society, Prof Richard Dendy, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, Abingdon, Oxfordshire OX14 3DB, U.K., preferably by electronic mail: r [dot] dendy [at] warwick [dot] ac [dot] uk

More info:

Read previous post:
The Nobel Prize in Physics 2016

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 with one half to David J. Thouless (University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA) and the other half to F. Duncan M. Haldane (Princeton University, NJ, USA) and J. Michael Kosterlitz (Brown University, Providence, RI, USA)