Call for the Research into the Science of Light Prize 2017 – reminder

By . Published on 27 September 2016 in:
Awards, September 2016, , , , ,

The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division (QEOD) of the European Physical Society (EPS) is soliciting nominations for the biennial prize Research into the Science of Light to be presented at the Nanometa Conference organised in Seefeld, Austria, between 4-7 January 2017.

Nominations will be received online until 1 October 2016 at the latest.

The EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light is a major prize awarded in recognition of recent work by one to three individuals for scientific excellence in the area of electromagnetic science in its broadest sense, across the entire spectrum of electromagnetic waves.

The work for which the individual(s) is/are nominated must be such that a significant component of it was performed during the 5 years prior to the award. In addition, the award recognises research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe or in cooperation with European researchers. It may be given for either pure or applied research.

The award will be accompanied by an engraved glass medal, a certificate, and a sum of 2000 euros.

Nominations must include:

  • A cover letter provided by the nominator with a proposed citation.
  • A two-page summary of the significance of the work being the subject of the nomination. For a nominated team of more than one person, the summary should clearly specify the individual contribution of each nominee, and when and where the work was performed.
  • Nominee CV(s).
  • A list of publications covering the last five years (a few earlier articles particularly relevant for the nomination can also be included). Five articles of greatest significance should be highlighted.
  • Up to three letters of endorsement of the nomination.

Online Submission Details

All material must be prepared in English and combined into either a single consolidated PDF file or a ZIP archive.  Please click the link below to access the submission site:

Read previous post:
New Chair for EPS AMOP Division

Joachim Burgdörfer, Dean of Faculty and Professor at the Institute of Theoretical Physics, Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien), Vienna- Austria, has been elected as the new Chair of the European Physical Society’s Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Division [AMOPD], succeeding Dominique Vernhet from the University Pierre and Marie Curie- Sorbonne Universities in Paris, France, who has led the division for the last three years.