EPS distinctions 2016

By . Published on 26 April 2016 in:
April 2016, News, , ,

EPS Members can recognise individuals whose achievements in physics, whether in research, industry or education and/or through commitment to the SOCIETY and award them the distinction of a Fellow on the European Physical Society. In 2016, EPS Council welcomed the following individuals as EPS Fellows:

  • Luc Bergé French Commission for Atomic Energy, CEA, Paris, FR, for his outstanding theoretical contributions to the wave propagation in nonlinear media and for his service to the European Physical Society.
  • Eberhard Bodenschatz Max-Planck-Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization Göttingen, DE, for contributions to the dynamics of pattern formation, thermal convection and in particular to Lagrangian turbulence, as Editor in Chief of the New Journal of Physics, and his role promoting opportunities for European researchers.
  • Reinhard Brinkmann DESY Hamburg, DE, for his outstanding leadership and achievements in accelerator physics and technology, including ground-breaking solutions for modern free-electron lasers and linear colliders based on super-conducting accelerator technology and the success of longitudinally polarized electron beams in the HERA collider.
  • Sydney Galès Institut de Physique Nucléaire, Orsay, FR, for his decisive contributions to the strategic roadmaps taken on national and international level with regard to the important orientations related to the physics of the nucleus, and to the associated accelerator and instruments technologies.
  • Victor Malka Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquée Palaiseau, FR, for his major contributions for the development of compact laser-plasma accelerators, and for their innovative applications for science (ultra fast phenomena, accelerators physics) and society (medicine, radiobiology, chemistry and material science).
  • Karlheinz Meier Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Univerity of Heidelberg DE, for substantial service to the particle physics community, exceptional contributions in bringing physics to bear in other disciplines, especially neuromorphic computing, and his commitment to inspire young scientists.

The EPS Achievement Award is given annually by the European Physical Society for excellent contributions to the promotion and development of: EPS Divisions or their Sections; EPS Groups; EPS Committees. This award recognises activities and achievements, which have favoured EPS internal collaboration and effectively promoted the image and the impact of the EPS within the scientific community, policy makers and other stakeholders. The 2016 laureates are:

  • I.J. Douglas MacGregor, University of Glasgow, Scotland, UK, for his outstanding leadership skills and his active promotion of the activities of the Nuclear Physics Division, increasing the visibility, significance and impact of the EPS.
  • Jozef Ongena, Plasma Physics Laboratory, Royal Military Academy, Brussels, Belgium, for his outstanding contributions to the EPS in his various functions over a long period of time and for his enthusiasm in promoting the image and the impact of the EPS with the scientific community, policy makers and other stakeholders.

The Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal was created in 2000 to honour the memory of G. Thomas, who was the Secretary General of the EPS from 1973 to 1997 and played an essential role in the growth and the development of the Society. The Commemorative Medal is awarded to individuals for their outstanding service to the Society. In 2016, the EPS Gero Thomas medal was awarded to:

  • Dénes Lajos Nagy, KFKI Research Institute for Particle and Nuclear Physics, Budapest, HU, for his dedication and numerous contributions and commitment to the EPS in the fields of East West relations, and international scientific cooperation.
EPS Achievement Award 2016
I.J. Douglas MacGregor and Josef Ongena
Dénes Nagy received the EPS Gero Thomas 2016
Dénes Nagy received the EPS Gero Thomas 2016

Read previous post:
Report on the EPS Council 2016

Over 80 participants attended the EPS Council meeting which was held on the campus of the Université de Hate Alsace, in Mulhouse (FR). EPS Council is the opportunity for the EPS Divisions and Groups, member Societies and Action Committees to meet, and share information on the development of the EPS.