2016 APS-EPS Landau-Spitzer award: call for nominations

By . Published on 15 December 2015 in:
Awards, December 2015, News, , , , ,

The Landau-Spitzer Award on the Physics of Plasmas for “Outstanding contributions to plasma physics” is jointly sponsored by the Plasma Physics Divisions of the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society.

The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the USA by joint research or research that advances knowledge which benefits the two communities in a unique way. The award may be given to a team or collaboration of up to four persons affiliated with either the European or US institutions.

The call for nominations for the 2016 award is open. The deadline is January 31, 2016. A complete nomination package, including:

  • a nomination letter evaluating the nominee’s qualifications in the light of the particular features of the prize or award and identifying the specific work to be recognized,
  • a biographical sketch (optional),
  • a list of the most important publications,
  • at least two, but no more than four, seconding letters and,
  • up to five reprints or preprints if appropriate.

shall be submitted to honors [at] aps [dot] org with the subject line “Landau-Spitzer Award Nomination”.

The 2016 Selection Committee Members are: Richard Dendy (Chair), David Meyerhofer (Vice Chair), Stefano Atzeni (EPS), Alain Brizard (APS), James Hanson (APS) and Christophe Hollenstein (EPS).

Self-nominations are not accepted. Members of the APS Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee or members of the EPS Plasma Physics Division [EPS PPD] Board are not eligible.

More information about the award and previous winners can be found on the EPS PPD website:

Read previous post:
The Ludwig­‐Maximilians‐Universität becomes EPS Historic Site

On 6 May 2015, the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (LMU) has been named a “Historic Site” by the European Physical Society (EPS). After the Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) in Berlin in 2013, LMU is the second German institution to receive this honour.