The Spring 2015 Emmy Noether distinction presented to Anna Fontcuberta i Morral

By . Published on 23 November 2015 in:
Awards, News, November 2015, ,

On 2 October 2015, the Spring 2015 Emmy Noether distinction was presented to Prof. A. Fontcuberta i Morral (Institute of Materials, EPFL, Switzerland), by the EPS Equal Opportunity Committee [EOC] Chair, on behalf of the EPS President.

The event took place in Lausanne at the Rolex Learning Centre, during the yearly awards ceremony of the EPFL prizes for research accomplishments.

The event was organised by Prof. Andreas Mortensen, vice-provost of research at EPFL and by Prof. Benoit Deveau, Head of the Research Commission of the Swiss National Science Foundation at the EPFL and took place in the presence of the EPFL President, Prof. Patrick Aebischer.

The EPS Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics is awarded twice a year (spring and autumn). The distinction charter and previous winners can be found on the EPS website.

Read previous post:
Light and Innovation Ceremony at the Palazzo Edison in Milan

On the occasion of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 a special session entitled ‘Light and Innovation’ took place on 16 October 2015 at the wonderful Palazzo Edison in Milan, the headquarters of the Edison corporation. It was organized by Edison SpA and the Foundation Alessandro Volta, in collaboration with the European Physical Society and the Italian Physical Society. Edison SpA is Europe’s oldest energy company, and today is one of the industry leaders in Italy and Europe with business focusing on electric power and hydrocarbon exploration and production. The Alessandro Volta Foundation is located at Lake Como and has a school of Advanced Studies where scientific events are organized to promote excellence in training and research.