IPCC elects Hoesung Lee of Republic of Korea as Chair

By . Published on 22 October 2015 in:
News, October 2015, ,

DUBROVNIK, Croatia, 6 October 2015. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change [IPCC] elected Hoesung Lee of the Republic of Korea as its new Chair on Tuesday.
Hoesung Lee was elected by 78 votes to 56 in a run-off with Jean-Pascal van Ypersele. A total of six candidates had been nominated for the position.
“I am honoured and grateful that the  Panel  has  elected  me  as  the  IPCC’s  new  Chair,”  said  Hoesung   Lee.  “The  IPCC  remains  deeply  committed  to  providing  policymakers  with  the  highest  quality   scientific assessment of climate change, but we can do more.”

“The  next  phase  of  our  work  will  see  us increase our understanding of regional impacts, especially in developing countries, and improve the way we communicate our findings to the public. Above all, we need to provide more information about the options that exist for preventing and adapting to climate change. I look forward to working with my IPCC colleagues to reach these goals and I thank  them  for  their  support.”

The election took place in Dubrovnik, Croatia, where the IPCC is holding its 42nd Session. Elections for other positions on the IPCC Bureau, including the Co-Chairs of the IPCC Working Groups, took place over 6-8 October.

Lee, aged 69, is professor in the economics of climate change, energy and sustainable development at Korea University’s  Graduate  School  of  Energy  and  Environment  in  the  Republic  of   Korea.  He  is  currently  one  of  the  IPCC’s  three  vice-chairs.
The election of the new Bureau, which will have 34 members including the Chair, opens the way for work to start on the IPCC’s  Sixth  Assessment  Report,  expected  to  be  completed  in 5-7 years.

The IPCC completed its Fifth Assessment Report [AR5] in November 2014.
The key findings of the AR5 Synthesis Report are:
– Human influence on the climate system is clear;
– The more we disrupt our climate, the more we risk severe, pervasive and irreversible
impacts; and
– We have the means to limit climate change and build a more prosperous, sustainable future.

The candidates for Chair, with the countries that nominated them, were:
– Ogunlade Davidson (Sierra Leone)
– Chris Field (United States of America)
– Hoesung Lee (Republic of Korea)
– Nebojsa Nakicenovic (Austria and Montenegro)
– Thomas Stocker (Switzerland)
– Jean-Pascal van Ypersele (Belgium)
A webcast press conference with Hoesung Lee was held at 10.00 CET (08.00 GMT) on Wednesday, 7 October 2015.

Read previous post:
EPS Executive & Staff activity for September 2015

The EPS works to support its members. Find below the list of activities of the EPS Executive Committee and staff for September 2015:

1-4 September: Christophe Rossel, EPS president, attended the joint annual Meeting of the Austrian and Swiss Physical Societies at TU Wien, Vienna, delivering one opening address and chairing two sessions (one plenary and one on Condensed Matter Physics)