Kavli Prize – Call for Nominations 2016

By . Published on 22 September 2015 in:
Awards, September 2015, ,

The call for nominations for the 2016 Kavli Prizes is open from September 1 through December 1, 2015.  The winners of the 2016 Kavli Prizes will be announced June 2, 2016 and the award ceremony will take place in Oslo, Norway on 6 September 6, 2016.

Nominations for the Kavli Prizes should be submitted to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters by way of the online nomination form.

The Kavli Prize is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for outstanding scientific achievements in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience. The Kavli Prize for each of the three fields consists of USD 1,000,000. In addition to the prize money the laureates will receive a scroll and a gold medal.

To review the nominations The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints a Kavli Prize Committee for each field, chaired by a member of the Academy. The other members are appointed by the Academy following proposals from the following bodies: The Chinese Academy of Sciences, The French Academy of Sciences, The Max Planck Society (Germany), The National Academy of Sciences (US), and The Royal Society (UK). The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience on the basis of the recommendations of the three Kavli Prize Committees.

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US) and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

To nominate
Nominations may be submitted September 1 – December 1, 2015
Nomination Form:
How to complete the nomination form:

Project manager:
Eirik Lislerud
eirik [dot] lislerud [at] dnva [dot] no

Read previous post:
Featured in EPN

Most recent highlights from EPN:
Rosetta's journey to Comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko
How many gold atoms make gold metal?
Light - cosmic messages from the past