EPS Plasma Physics Division prizes awarded

By . Published on 26 May 2015 in:
Awards, May 2015, , ,

The 2015 Hannes Alfvén Prize will be awarded at EPS2015 to

Nathaniel J. Fisch (PPL, USA) “for his contributions to the understanding of plasma wave‐particle interactions and their applications to efficiently driving currents with radio‐frequency waves”.

The 2015 PhD Research Awards will be awarded to

Bruno Albertazzi (LULI, FR) for his PhD thesis on “Plasmas Lasers et Champs Magnétiques”,
Joaquim Loizu
(EPFL, CH) for his PhD thesis on “The role of the sheath in magnetized plasma turbulence and flows” and
Michael Rack
(Düsseldorf Univ., DE) for his PhD thesis on “Influence of resonant magnetic perturbations on transient heat load deposition and fast ion losses”.

The prizes ceremony will take place during the annual conference of the Division to be held in Lisbon (Portugal) at the end of June (

More info can be found on the website of the EPS Plasma Physics Division.

Read previous post:
EPS Nuclear Physics Division contributions for the IYL 2015

The International Year of the Light 2015 [IYL 2015] is celebrated worldwide with many events and initiatives. The European Physical Society is one of the founding partners of the IYL2015 and the Board of the Nuclear Physics Division of EPS also contributes to this effort with dedicated publications foreseen in journals like Europhysics News and through other actions in different media.