EPS Distinctions 2015

By . Published on 26 May 2015 in:
May 2015, News, , , ,

The 2015 Gero Thomas Medal for outstanding contribution to the European Physical Society was awarded to Gerardo Delgado Barrio, from Madrid, Spain for commitment to the EPS in the fields of international scientific cooperation, outreach and education, and physics for development.

As a member of the EPS Executive Committee from 2001 until 2006, G. Delgado Barrio opened up communications channels to Latin America, notably through the creation of the Federation of Latin American Physical Societies. This allowed the development of EPS activities for physics for development. G. Delgado Barrio was a founding member of the EPS Forum Physics and Society, and organized the 4th FPS Meeting in El Escorial, on improving the dialogue between physics and society.

The EPS also welcomed Stefan Hell, the Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry 2014 as an honorary member for pioneering work in the physics and applications of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy which has taken optical imaging beyond the diffraction limit, and which has provided research laboratories around the world with the ability to discern the nanoscale features of tissues and cells.

Finally, Council delegates recognised the following individuals as Fellows of the EPS:

  • Patrizio Antici
  • Alessandro Bettini
  • Harald Brune
  • Majed Chergui
  • Michel Spiro
  • Horst Stoecker
  • Victor Zamfir

Read previous post:
The Fasor Lutheran Secondary School of Budapest distinguished as EPS Historic Site

“The fear of the lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.”
This is the motto of the Fasor Lutheran Secondary School of Budapest, Hungary, which was recently recognised as an EPS Historic Site. This school has proved to be very successful in finding and encouraging talent: Both Eugene Wigner (Nobel Prize in physics, 1963) and John von Neumann attended the school and learned the basics of science there.