Dutch annual Physics Conference 2015 – focus on Year of Light

By . Published on 24 February 2015 in:
2015, Events, February 2015, March 2015, , ,

FYSICA, is the annual physics conference of the Netherlands Physical Society [NNV]. Each year the NNV organizes FYSICA in cooperation with a Dutch university, which changes every year.


On 10 April 2015, FYSICA 2015 will take place at Eindhoven University of Technology. All physicists are invited to attend the meeting: teachers, industrial physicists, students and scientists. You can look forward to a day full of exciting physics. The United Nations [UN] General Assembly’s 68th Session proclaimed 2015 as the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies [IYL 2015]. The programme of FYSICA 2015 includes sessions on the International Year of Light, focusing on light and light-based technologies.

The preliminary program of FYSICA 2015 can be found here. Almost all lectures will be in English. In the morning FYSICA 2015 will have plenary lectures. Erik Verlinde (UvA) gives a lecture called ‘A new theory of gravity’. Jan Anton Koster (RUG) is going to talk about the Nobel Prize 2014 (LEDs). In the afternoon the winner of the Physica Prize 2015, Marileen Dogterom (TUD), gives the Physica Lecture.

During the Young Speakers Contest three young speakers will try to win the approval of the public. The public votes for the winner. Of course companies and institutes are present at the FYSICA market.

The afternoon offers a wide range of topics. You can choose one of the following focus sessions:

  • Light – Year of Light 2015
  • Big machines in physics
  • Small-scale physics
  • Energy (physics and energy)
  • Education (quantum)
  • Career  

FYSICA 2015 closes with a spectacular evening program: lectures and a concert for Tesla coil and university organ.

Read previous post:
EPS HEP 2015

The European Physical Society Conference on High Energy Physics [EPS-HEP] is one of the major international conferences that reviews the field of high energy physics every second year. The High Energy and Particle Physics Division of the European Physical Society has organised this conference since its beginning in 1971. The latest conferences in this series were held in Stockholm, Grenoble, Krakow, Manchester, Lisbon and Aachen.