Light Prize announced – QEOD & IUPAP prizes open

By . Published on 27 November 2014 in:
News, November 2014, , , , ,

EPS QEOD prize for Research into the Science of Light

The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division [QEOD] of the European Physical Society is delighted to announce the 2015 winner of the Prize for Research into the Science of Light. This Prize is awarded every two years and recognises recent work by one or more individuals for scientific excellence in the area of electromagnetic science in its broadest sense, across the entire spectrum of electromagnetic waves. The award is accompanied by an engraved glass medal, a certificate, and a monetary sum of 2000 euros.

The 2015 Prize for Research into the Science of Light is awarded to Miles Padgett, Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Glasgow, Glasgow, United Kingdom. The Prize is awarded to Professor Padgett for “internationally recognised work on optical momentum, including an optical spanner, use of orbital angular momentum in communication systems and an angular form of EPR paradox”.

Read the full press release on the EPS QEOD website.

Call for other QEOD Prizes 2015

The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division of the European Physical Society is soliciting nominations for the biennial Quantum Electronics and Optics Prizes, Fresnel Prizes and Thesis Prizes, which will be presented at the 2015 Edition of the CLEO/Europe-EQEC Conference in Munich, Germany, between 21st and 25th June 2015.
Nominations are to be received online by 20 March 2015 at the latest.

Complete information about the EPS QEOD Prizes 2015 can be found on the division’s website.

IUPAP Commission 17 Young Scientist Prizes

The IUPAP Commission 17 – Laser Physics and Photonics – is seeking nominations for its biennial Young Scientist Prizes. Two prizes are available for award. One prize is for outstanding contributions of a fundamental nature. The other is for outstanding contributions of an applied nature. Both prize winners will have demonstrated significant achievement, and exceptional promise for future achievement in the areas of laser physics and/or photonics. The recipients must be no more than eight years post PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition.

Nomination for the Prize must be by a senior member of the research community, with one or two additional letters of endorsement by supporters. The deadline for submissions of nominations is 31 January 2015.

Full details can be obtained by contacting the Chair of the IUPAP Commission Professor Deb Kane deb [dot] kane [at] mq [dot] edu [dot] au.

Read previous post:
Featured in EPN

Most recent highlights from EPN:
2014 Nobel Prizes in Physics and in Chemistry by L. Bergé
Showering from high-energy cosmic raysby H. Buisman, D.Wilke de Souza and J. Steijger
Consumer participation in power market balancingby P. Lund
Extra-terrestrial Life in the Milky Way Galaxy? by N.J. Evans II
A new publication frequency for EPNVictor R. Velasco, EPN Editor