2014 Lise Meitner Prize for Nuclear Science

By . Published on 25 July 2014 in:
Awards, July 2014, , , , , , ,

The 2014 Lise Meitner Prize has been jointly awarded to Johanna Stachel (University of Heidelberg), Peter Braun-Munzinger (GSI Darmstadt), Paolo Giubellino (University of Torino) and Jürgen Schukraft (CERN) for “their outstanding contributions to the experimental exploration of the quark-gluon plasma using ultra-relativistic nucleus-nucleus collisions, in particular to the design and construction of ALICE and shaping its physics program and scientific results bringing to light unique and unexpected features of a deconfined state of strongly-interacting matter at the highest temperatures ever produced in the laboratory”.

The Lise Meitner Prize is given biennially by the Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physical Society. It recognises outstanding work in the fields of applied, experimental or theoretical nuclear science.

The prize is sponsored by Extreme Light Infrastructure – Nuclear Physics [ELI-NP], Bucharest-Magurele, Romania.

For more information on the award, please visit the Nuclear Physics Division website.

Johanna Stachel, Juergen Schukraft, Paolo Giubellino and Peter Braun-Munzinger
Johanna Stachel, Jürgen Schukraft, Paolo Giubellino and Peter Braun-Munzinger

Read previous post:
EPS Plasma Physics Division Prizes

The EPS Plasma Physics Division took the opportunity of its annual conference to reward researchers who have achieved outstanding scientific or technological results, thus reinforcing excellence in science.
The 2014 Hannes Alfvén Prize is awarded to Patrick Mora (Centre de Physique Théorique, Palaiseau, France) "for decisive results in the field of laser-produced plasma physics, in particular for illuminating descriptions of laser light absorption in plasmas, electron heat transport in steep temperature gradients and...