EPS Council 2014

By . Published on 26 May 2014 in:
May 2014, News, , , , ,

The Council of the European Physical Society [EPS] met at the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy on 4-5 April 2014. Over the two day meeting, Council delegates listened to presentations summarising the activity of the EPS in 2013, as well as programmed activities in 2014 and beyond.

The highlights of EPS activity for 2013 are available in the Annual Report, which is available on the EPS website.

J.Dudley at the Council 2014
J.Dudley at the Council 2014

In particular, EPS Council elected the incoming members of the Executive Committee. The EPS would like to congratulate the incoming members:

  • Angela Bracco
  • Lucia Di Ciaccio
  • Ari Friberg
  • Gerd Leuchs
  • Elisabeth Rachlew
  • Marian Reiffers

We also welcome the members re-elected for a second term:

  • Zsolt Fulop
  • James Hough
  • Carlos Hidalgo
  • Thomas Muller
  • Sofoklis Sotiriou

John Dudley continues as EPS President for a second year, until Council 2015, when Christopher Rossel, currently EPS President – elect will take up office (see the Christopher Rossel’s Editorial in e-EPS).

Council warmly thanked the outgoing members of the Executive Committee for their hard work and dedication to the EPS:

  • Caterina Biscari
  • Luisa Cifarelli
  • Goran Djordjevic
  • Els de Wolf
  • Martina Knoop
  • Colin Latimer
  • Jo Lister

The EPS would also like to welcome Peter Higgs and François Englert as Honorary Members. More information concerning Honorary Membership is available on the EPS website.

EPS Council is also pleased to award status as an EPS Fellow to Peter Fulde, Thomas Kibble, and Markus Pollnau.

Read previous post:
Shaping science policy in Europe

The Lisbon Strategy was adopted by the Heads of State and Government of the European Union [EU] in 2000. By moving science into a central position for the development of a European knowledge-based economy and society, its adoption at political level seems to have been a powerful catalyst for the increased involvement of scientists in science policy in the EU.

Recognising the need for scientists to act collectively in order to contribute to shape the future of science policy in...