Nominate a deserving (woman) physicist

By & . Published on 25 June 2013 in:
Awards, June 2013, News, , ,

This year, the European Physical Society [EPS] launched the Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics to recognize noteworthy women physicists.

Emmy Noether was a mathematician whose work has had an enormous impact in physics, and a role model for future generations of scientists. The laureates of the Emmy Noether Distinction are chosen for their capacity to inspire the next generation of scientists, and especially encourage women to handle careers in physics.

Earlier this year, the distinction was awarded for the first time to Alessandra Gatti for her contributions to physics, the introduction of concepts of quantum images, spatial entanglement, and quantum entangled images.

The EPS Distinction for Women in Physics is awarded twice a year: in winter and in summer. The selection committee, appointed by the EPS Equal Opportunities Committee, will consider nominations for woman scientists working in Europe.

To make a nomination, please email the following information to the EPS Secretariat:

  • A cover letter, detailing (in no more than 3 paragraphs) the motivation for awarding the Emmy Noether distinction to the nominee;
  • The nominee’s name, institution and email;
  • The nominee’s résumé;
  • The nominator’s name, institution, and email.

The distinction charter can be downloaded on the EPS website.
Read more about the
prize on the EPS website.

Read previous post:
New President of the Netherlands Physical Society

The Nederlandse Natuurkundige Vereniging – The Netherlands Physical Society [NNV] organised its first on-line presidential elections in March 2013. All NNV members were invited to vote for the candidates. In total 360 members did so - about 10% of all members. Professor Jan van Ruitenbeek received 54% of the total votes cast and was elected as the new NNV president. He took up office during FYSICA 2013, the yearly symposium of the Netherlands Physical Society.
Jan van Ruitenbeek, former NNV treasurer, is a professor in Experimental Physics at Leiden University...