Institute of Physics Awards Dinner

By . Published on 26 October 2012 in:
Awards, Information, News, October 2012, , , ,

The Institute of Physics [IoP] Awards Dinner 2012, held in London on 3 October, attracted a record attendance of over 600 physicists.

The IoP President, Sir Peter Knight, a Fellow of the European Physical Society [EPS], highlighted in his address a new IoP report, which showed, yet again, the lamentable number of girls studying physics in the UK despite years of effort to improve matters.

The President’s Medal was presented to Brian Cox of the Manchester University in recognition of his outstanding success in promoting science to the general public, which has made him a TV physics celebrity – perhaps this explains the large attendance!

The importance now attached by the IoP to promoting physics in the media was emphasised by the creation of a new prize for physics journalism.

In addition to the subject based medals and prizes, bilateral awards with the French, German and Italian Physical societies were also celebrated. Eugenio Coccia of the University of Rome, an EPS stalwart, was present to receive the Occhialini Medal and Prize. The treasurer of the EPS, Colin Latimer, was presented with the Phillips Award for distinguished service to the Institute.

For more information please visit the IoP website.

Read previous post:
Professor Zalewska elected President of CERN Council

The 20 September 2012, CERN Council elected Agnieszka Zalewska as its 21st President. She will follow Michel Spiro, whose 3-year term will end at the end of December.

“I feel particularly honoured to have presided over the CERN Council through a period that has seen the first major results from the Large hadron Collider,” said Michel Spiro. “I’d like to wish Professor Zalewska all the very best as the LHC adventure continues to unfold...”