Call for new Landau-Spitzer plasma physics prize

By . Published on 20 January 2012 in:
News, , , , , ,

Nominations are now open for the first Landau-Spitzer award for outstanding contributions to plasma physics. The award, which is being given jointly by the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society, celebrates the long-standing collaboration between the societies in the field of plasma physics.

The prizes, which may be given to individuals or teams of up to four people, will be presented at the opening session of the 16th International Congress on Plasma Physics, which is being held in Stockholm on 2 July this year.

The selection committee consists of Ricardo Betti, Ron Parker and Fred Skiff, from the American Physical Society, and Richard Dendy, Holger Kersten and Juergen Meyer-ter-Vehn from the European Physical Society.

The deadline for nominations is 25 March 2012. For more information, and the nomination form, please visit the European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division website.

Read previous post:
European Physical Society unveils new website design

The European Physical Society website has undergone a major facelift. Following many suggestions for improvements, a new design has been implemented, with better navigation, a crisp new layout and more information on society activities.

Individual Members will benefit from a new feature, allowing them to indicate their research fields, and upload CVs and publication lists.

The new website will foster the exchange of information among Individual Members, divisions and groups.